Red Bull Ring F2: Renault junior Lundgaard gets first win

Renault junior Christian Lundgaard scored a dominant first Formula 2 victory in the series’ fourth and final Austria race after making an early pass on reverse-grid poleman Dan Ticktum.

From third on the grid, Lundgaard immediately dispatched ART Grand Prix teammate Marcus Armstrong at the start and after a brief Virtual Safety Car period – triggered by an unaided spin for Saturday race winner Robert Shwartzman – he set about passing Ticktum.

On lap four of 28, The Danish driver made a bold move on the inside at Turn 3 to grab the lead from DAMS man Ticktum, and from there he was able to quickly escape DRS range before cruising to victory by a comfortable two-second margin.

Behind Ticktum, Mick Schumacher had run third after passing Armstrong around the outside of Turn 4 on lap 12, but towards the end of the following tour the Prema driver’s cockpit fire extinguisher went off, forcing the German into the pits and out.

That meant Armstrong was left to complete the podium, albeit some 10 seconds down on his race-winning teammate Lundgaard, ahead of UNI-Virtuosi pair Callum Ilott and Guanyu Zhou and Campos driver Jack Aitken.

Ticktum’s DAMS teammate Sean Gelael and Hitech driver Nikita Mazepin completed the points-scorers in seventh and eighth places.

Shwartzman was unable to continue after his first-corner spin, while the other protagonist from Saturday’s race, Carlin driver Yuki Tsunoda, was forced out with an apparent clutch problem while running in the lower reaches of the points.

Race results:

16 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix28 
22 Dan Ticktum DAMS28 2.063
35 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix28 10.226
43 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi28 10.944
54 Callum Ilott UNI-Virtuosi28 11.534
69 Jack Aitken Campos Racing28 20.458
71 Sean Gelael DAMS28 22.955
824 Nikita Mazepin HitechGP28 23.632
98 Jehan Daruvala Carlin28 24.180
1025 Luca Ghiotto HitechGP28 27.770
1114 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport28 28.392
1211 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System28 29.247
1315 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport28 32.770
1412 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System28 34.113
1517 Giuliano Alesi HWA AG28 41.821
1616 Artem Markelov HWA AG28 49.240
1710 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing28 50.818
1822 Roy Nissany Trident28 1’11.311
 20 Mick Schumacher Prema Powerteam13 
 7 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin9 
 23 Marino Sato Trident1 
 21 Robert Shwartzman Prema Powerteam0 

Source: Read Full Article