2020 Supercars Sydney Supersprint race results

Scott McLaughlin fended off a charging Shane van Gisbergen to win the opening race of the Sydney Supersprint, as the 2020 Supercars season roared back to life after the coronavirus-induced hiatus.

McLaughlin made a scorching start to the 32-lap opener, pulling a gap of as much as 3.5s over van Gisbergen in the early stages.

Van Gisbergen fought back before the stops, though, only to run long and drop back to fifth as others undercut him.

But he had the tyre condition to work his way back into the race, he and McLaughlin staging a thrilling nose-to-tail battle to the end.

In the end solid defence from McLaughlin made the difference, the reigning champion winning by just 0.18s. 

The Sydney Supersprint weekend continues on Sunday, with two more 32-lap races scheduled for the day. Race 2 will kick off at 12:15pm AEST, followed by Race 3 at 2:35pm AEST.

2020 Supercars Sydney Supersprint Saturday Race Results:

117 Scott McLaughlinFord Mustang GT 
297 Shane van GisbergenHolden Commodore ZB 0.187
388 Jamie WhincupHolden Commodore ZB 9.775
425 Chaz MostertHolden Commodore ZB 11.076
58 Nick PercatHolden Commodore ZB 28.328
66 Cameron WatersFord Mustang GT 30.798
75 Lee HoldsworthFord Mustang GT 31.755
899 Anton De PasqualeHolden Commodore ZB 31.783
918 Mark WinterbottomHolden Commodore ZB 32.670
1012 Fabian CoulthardFord Mustang GT 35.238
1114 Todd HazelwoodHolden Commodore ZB 36.280
1244 James CourtneyFord Mustang GT 43.980
132 Bryce FullwoodHolden Commodore ZB 43.990
1415 Rick KellyFord Mustang GT 48.283
157 Andre HeimgartnerFord Mustang GT 48.439
1635 Garry JacobsonHolden Commodore ZB 50.844
1720 Scott PyeHolden Commodore ZB 51.059
183 Macauley JonesHolden Commodore ZB 51.409
1955 Jack Le BrocqFord Mustang GT 51.889
2022 Chris PitherHolden Commodore ZB 1’02.035
219 David ReynoldsHolden Commodore ZB 1’22.383
2234 Jake KosteckiHolden Commodore ZB 1’24.170
234 Jack SmithHolden Commodore ZB 1 Lap
 19 Alex DavisonHolden Commodore ZB 20 Laps

Source: Read Full Article